Posted in Daily post, Masters of Creative Writing, Uncategorized

Taking a big bite of things!

Readers, I fear I have bitten off more than I can chew.

Last night was night #2 of school and my second subject – luckily, the second of two. It’s a class called Writing and Editing for Digital Media and I think it will be very useful and interesting. While I’ve been blogging for a few years, I definitely think there’s an art to writing and editing online and while you can adapt what you know from print media, it’s great to learn the skills for digital.

The class is a bit smaller than the Structural Editing class but overall, I think there are about the same number of students, just spread out differently. There were a few familiar faces from Monday night, which made me feel less of a misfit and I made a friend while I waiting for class to start. Emma is really lucky in that her work is paying for her to study and also allowing her time off to attend classes, so I’m a little jealous! The way my week has been turning out, any time off would be lovely!

Our tutor is lovely – very confident and prepared and also easy to listen to. That’s important when you’re listening to someone for 2 hours straight. The class actually went by really quickly and I enjoyed the exercises. I was super impressed with the uni – there are tons of laptops in a cupboard at the back of the class and they’re all MacBook Pros, albeit 13-inch ones. Apple has done well from Melbourne Uni, that’s for sure.

As our tutor started going through the assignments and expectations, my stomach knotted up a bit. There’s an ongoing assignment of updating a class blog and wiki and there are 3 other bigger assignments. One of the assignments is due 3 days after I get back from my trip to Canada in September/October so I’ll have to be a super conscientious and start it as soon as I possibly can. Additionally, both subjects have stressed that over and above the 2 hours in class, we’re expected to put in about 8 hours outside of class. With two subjects, that’s 20 hours and then my 40 hours of work and suddenly, I have very little time to myself and to write and read and do all those things I love to do. And combine with the stress I’m under at work, I’m quite panicked.

I know, I know, I brought this onto myself. The only way I’ll manage it is by planning and being organized and work ahead of time. So readers, any tips for me on how to do this and stay semi-sane?

Author:

Writer, editor, wife, mother. I snatch moments to myself to read between nappy changes, work and chasing a toddler who is determined to destroy ALL THE THINGS. Welcome.

One thought on “Taking a big bite of things!

  1. Wow, you do have a lot on your plate right now. Those classes sound intense.

    As for keeping sane, well, that is the ultimate question. I don’t think I’ve quite figured that out for myself yet. But organizing wise, I may be able to help you out. I don’t know exactly what your schedule looks like, so I will tell you what works for me.

    I have classes in during the day (usually 9-3) and then work in the evening (usually 5-11). I alternate, depending on when I want to sleep, between waking up early and getting my class work done before classes or working late into the night to finish.

    As for personal writing, take it where you can. Whether it’s ten minutes during lunch, five minutes before class starts, or for a few minutes before you fall asleep. Just write something. It may not be the most profound and engaging, but it helps you feel that you still writing and not letting it fall to the wayside.

    I hope this helps. I wish you the best of luck with your classes, Mandy.

Leave a Reply

