Posted in Daily post

Topic #186: Imagining the perfect meal and beyond

 Describe a perfect meal. What will you eat? Who is there? Are you outside, or inside with a view? A view of what? It can be an imagined place and meal, or a real experience you want to have someday.

My perfect meal? That’s a good question. Is it a meal I’ve cooked and am serving at home or are we out somewhere? I think it’s easy to get a “perfect” meal when you’re out for dinner. You’re in a good mood generally, all dressed up and it’s an occasion. The best meal I’ve eaten was at our favourite restaurant in Auckland, a little place called Delicious where the food was always, well, delicious. The menu changed season to season but there was always one particular dish present, in one form or another – Pumpkin ravioli in sage butter. The first time we went there, I got the small serving of it and by the time we finished the meal, I was berating our waiter for not telling me that I should have ordered the large serve. Nobody should ever order the small serve of the ravioli – take it from me!

The little restaurant became our go-to dining out spot. Every time we had someone visiting, that’s where we took them. Every special occasion, that’s where we went. And generally, one of us always ordered the ravioli. But whatever we ordered, it was perfect.

Realistically, my perfect meal would be going there, with all my family and friends, having a glass or two of wine and sighing over the perfection of the pumpkin ravioli. Of all the things I miss about New Zealand, this is near the top of the list.

My if I’m going to dream, I might as well dream BIG. Perfect meal? To be a part of one of Heston Blumenthal’s feasts or eat at his restaurant, The Fat Duck and not worry about the money. That man is a genius – the fun he has with food inspires me. He’s creative and inventive and unshackled by what supposedly can and can’t be done. I would love to have that level of creative thinking and living in my life.

My goal: to use Heston as my inspiration and be fun and creative in the way that I live. But I’m not easting snail pudding.

Author:

Writer, editor, wife, mother. I snatch moments to myself to read between nappy changes, work and chasing a toddler who is determined to destroy ALL THE THINGS. Welcome.

3 thoughts on “Topic #186: Imagining the perfect meal and beyond

  1. Thank you for the tip on Delicious! I think when Mary comes back we’ll have to check it out!

    Heston is a hero of mine, too. He’s like the physicist discovering the way the universe works, but with food. It’s something I wish I had the ability for because it’s so fascinating. I’d love to eat at his restaurant, too.

    I’m honestly not sure what my perfect meal would be. I would hope Mary, FTS, my mum, Andy & Brenda, and Ms. Janie would attend.

Leave a Reply

