Posted in Masters of Creative Writing

Flexing my muscles

I’ve been toying with the idea of going back to uni for a few weeks now. I started thinking about it primarily because I wasn’t happy at work and I wanted to find something to challenge me in a different way. So I started researching Masters courses and found something interesting at the University of Melbourne – a Masters of Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing. I toyed and toyed with the idea of applying and I wasn’t sure. Mainly, I wasn’t sure because applying meant putting together a folio of 3000 words and submitting that along with everything else.

A folio meant writing. It meant finding material I already had and refining it and writing more and being happy with submitting it.

That scared the shit out of me.

Then I got a phone call from the University, since I’d asked for information and then gone quiet. The girl on the phone was super encouraging and didn’t seem to concerned about the writing and suddenly it seemed doable.

So I fished out a short story from years ago that always seemed to get good feedback and I found that I only needed another 1000 words. That was doable. So I wrote an opening to a story I’ve had in my head for a while and voila, I had 3000 words and I wasn’t too unhappy with them.

Suddenly I was applying and sending in academic transcripts and folios and resumes and it was done! No essays to write, no references to obtain as per the US model. It all seemed too easy.

As of Monday, I am officially starting back at uni July 25, part time, aiming to complete the course in 4-5 years. I’m in it for the long haul now!

And I’m terrified and excited and terrified some more.

But one thing is, I intend to write here a lot more since writing will be more front and centre in my life. This will be a bit of a Masters blog, a writing blog, a creative blog. I may spew words onto a page and it may make no sense. But nobody’s reading this anyway so it’s a safe place to vent.

Author:

Writer, editor, wife, mother. I snatch moments to myself to read between nappy changes, work and chasing a toddler who is determined to destroy ALL THE THINGS. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

