Posted in Uncategorized

Finding opportunities to be creative

One thing that The Artist’s Way is helping me to is find ways to be creative. While I really want to get back into my writing, I know that’s not the only way to be creative.

Some things I’ve done or am doing:

  • When we were in Wellington this past weekend, we both took our cameras and, more importantly, used them. No plan, just wandered around for a little bit and I focused on colour and patterns. I love taking photos of different patterns around the place – natural and man-made. And I really enjoyed it. This weekend the plan is to work on the photos I took, get them just right and then burn them to disk to get printed. Once they’re printed, I’m going to hang them in the living room. We currently have no photos or pictures in our place and I think that’s wrong!
  • I’ve looked into bellydancing lessons and community theatre – both things I’d like to get involved with. Obviously, I’m limited for time with community theatre since a lot of things seem to run into wedding time and that obviously takes priority. But I’m emailing and reading up and that’s always a good thing.
  • I bought some paints and a small canvas the other day. I’d like to paint something for the apartment. Obviously something small to start and nothing fancy. But it’s something I’ve been thinking about for ages and I thought why not? Sure, it may look AWFUL and I may end up chucking it but it may not. And even if it does, so what? And that’s the attitude I’m trying to foster more of. So what if it’s no good?

This is all exciting. I’ve so far only missed one day of writing my morning pages so I’m quite impressed. It’s becoming more of a habit quite quickly and that can only be a good thing.

Author:

Writer, editor, wife, mother. I snatch moments to myself to read between nappy changes, work and chasing a toddler who is determined to destroy ALL THE THINGS. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

